Sharing reviews of “A 38 Day Education”

38Day2

I am making a minor exception to my rule of focusing on emerging authors, and today I will be doing something a little off the beaten path.  I would like to post a couple of reviews received about my own novel, A 38 Day Education. Available on Amazon, it is a story based loosely on my own experiences in college and that is all I will say.  Now, I wish to share two five star reviews of this book.

Title:  A 38 Day Education

Amazon Buy Link:  http://goo.gl/FgdPsi

Review from Casey Knight:

A 38 Day Education by John Guzzardo is a compelling coming of age tale. The main character Jay leads the reader through his experience as the acting editor of his college newspaper. The former editor has left school and to Jays dismay has left the newspaper with no money to operate and no idea where the money went. He needs to find additional funding or close the paper. In the course of trying to procure additional funding he also sets out to find out who and where the papers budget was spent.

During his investigation into the missing funds he runs afoul of small college politics both from the administration and the student government that was the subject of numerous unflattering stories by the papers former editor. This is when our shy, self-conscious main character seizes the day. Instead of letting the paper close he confronts the student government and the college president. He found courage he didn’t know he had and relied on sage advice from his grandfather, which came to him in a dream.

Jay grows into a self-confident man who pulls the paper from the brink and turns it into a collaborative success. This he accomplishes by following his heart and remembering that if doing what is right is in conflict with what others say is correct then one should always follow one’s heart.

I don’t know the author; however, I can’t help but wonder how much of this story is autobiographical. This was a well written and engaging story. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a story that captures the reader from the first page and holds it until the last. This is a five star book that has me searching for other books by this author.

Review by Amazon customer “Luvs2Read”

This book is wonderful and so engaging. I was held by it from the start and my mind and emotions sent on a roller coaster ride. It has everything, intrigue, mystery, corruption, romance. It is a story of coming of age and facing the hard facts of how cold the world can really be.

The characters are well defined and perfect for the story line. Jay is my favorite, he has so much heart. The detailing is great and made me feel like I was right there. It is well written and easy to read and very hard to put down. It touches on politics and ethics and allows the reader to watch Jay grow and change. I enjoyed it very much, and I love the style and mind of this author. He is so gifted and his passion for writing comes through every word. I would love to read more from him.

I definitely recommend this book to everyone. It is a compelling read.

Leave a Reply

