A word about my blogs, my writing, and clickbait

John's Head

Don't worry, Mr. Cole!  This blog is clickbait-free. Don’t worry, Mr. Cole! This blog is clickbait-free.

There’s been a lot of talk recently about “click bait,” which is term used to describe inflammatory or controversial headlines, videos, photos, links or other media to drive internet traffic to various sites, mostly news sites and blogs which rely on advertising to keep themselves in business and support the livelihoods of those operating or owning such sites.  While I will never begrudge anyone the ability to make a living through legal means, there is something I wanted to make my readers aware of so expectations of this blog are clear.

I will not knowingly engage in the practice of “click bait” on this blog, or any other blog which I either operate or contribute to.  Others might do so, but I won’t, no matter the pressure or the cost.

That said, I do take great pains to ensure that my headlines…

View original post 399 more words

Leave a Reply

